The Kiriyama PrizeCelebrating Literary Voices of the Pacific Rim
HomeWinners and FinalistsNotable BooksPress RoomJudgesRulesBooks Submitted

Winners2000 Winners

Current Winners

Current Finalists

Previous Winners

Previous Finalists

2000 Fiction Winner

Anil's Ghost
by Michael Ondaatje
Canada: McClelland & Stewart
UK: Bloomsbury
USA: Alfred A. Knopf
A spellbinding novel centering on the return of Anil Tissera, a forensic anthropologist, to her native Sri Lanka to investigate the rash of political murders engulfing the island.

Read Prize Administrator Peter Coughlan’s interview with Michael Ondaatje.


2000 Nonfiction Winner

Things That Must Not Be Forgotten: A Childhood in Wartime China
by David Michael Kwan
Canada: MacFarlane, Walter & Ross
UK: Mainstream (Edinburgh)
USA:Soho Press (New York)
The exquisitely crafted, haunting memoir of the son of a wealthy Chinese railway administrator and leader of the resistance against Japanese occupation in 1930's China.

Read Prize Manager Jeannine Cuevas’s interview with the late Michael David Kwan.

Contact Us ©Copyright 2003-2004 Pacific Rim Voices Design by monkeypuzzle studio